SY 2012-2013 2nd Semester Lesson 7: Color

Slides: 2012-2013 G9 L7: Color

Xavier School  |  Grade 9  |  by Josiah Gosingtian

G9 L7 featured image

I modified last semester’s lesson on color to fit the medium (coloring pencils) and the subject (character drawing).  The lecture was done during the first meeting; they colored one of their inked drawings from the previous lesson.  Color meanings and psychology are a lot to take in, and some of my students ended up not thinking about the reason for their color choices, or worse, not bothering to use the color wheel.  (“Random” was a word I heard often.)  That led me to add a few “Tips” slides, which I repeated during the second session, whether I said it during the first or not.  There was some pretty cool works from this project; I’ll try to scan a few and setup a digital exhibit of sorts.

38-ish students is really too big a classroom size.  I like to go around and give personalized advice for my students while they work, since everyone progresses at a different rate.  Sometimes I have to keep myself from addressing someone’s work for too long, and I wish I didn’t have to.  Speaking of classroom size, that’s the main reason why I didn’t order coloring pencil sets greater than 12 per box: consider the nightmare of fixing misplaced pencils from boxes of 36, a box each for almost 40 students.  (;゜0゜)

About trickh

I taught art to freshmen and sophomores for one semester each. The stuff here is what I showed them that year. :) Going through this made me realize how much more I needed to know in order to be effective, how much more experience I needed to have. Now currently acting on these needs. :D

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter

  • RT @mindymol: KAPE ─ 2 weeks ago
  • An office where the restroom soap is soapier, the higher the floor. Also lets ya predict the presence of tissue paper in restrooms. ─ 1 month ago
  • It's a joyous occasion, seeing people improve. I don't need to be part of it. I feel good just seeing it happen. ─ 1 month ago
  • Looking into materials used for appliance wiring in the 40's. SO MANY KINDS to filter! A great #reference though: inspectapedia.com/electric/Old_E…1 month ago
  • It's raining, and I'm in my car, parked by a sidewalk. Just wanna stay, the car could shrink into a ball with me in it, one with the machine ─ 1 month ago
