SY 2012-2013 2nd Semester Lesson 3: Character Design, Creativity Tool “Word Chain”

Slides: 2012-2013 G9 L3: Character Design, Creativity Tool “Word Chain”

Xavier School  |  Grade 9  |  by Josiah Gosingtian

G9 L3 featured image

I planned to teach figure drawing at this point (3rd lesson), using drawing animals with shapes as a springboard to drawing, well, the human animal with shapes.  After running it for 3 of my 8 classes, I took it out and simplified it.  Most of my students were horrified by the idea of having to use a ruler to calculate (heroic) proportions (8 1/2 heads, if the head is 2 cm, therefore the whole height is 17 and so on).  The math was simple, and yet an incredible number of them froze and flat out rejected everything in the face of having to calculate things.  This lesson was the hardest one I’ve ever taught in class, not because of the subject, but because of my inability to realize the actual difficulty of the lesson.  The odd thing is that the students that did listen to my instructions (and didn’t freak out) were able to draw the figure correctly.  I’m still rather torn, as a side of me believes that the original lesson was fine.  In any case, this version’s a lot simpler.  More students were able to relax and take it in right.  Time will tell if it really worked, though.  (The graded assessment is coming up soon!)

The creativity tool discussed here is the Word Chain.  I took it from the concept of mind mapping, concept mapping, and the idea cloud; I wanted to use a variation of those without having to dedicate a whole period for teaching mind mapping.  I thought it worked well with the use of silhouettes to design.  What do you think?

About trickh

I taught art to freshmen and sophomores for one semester each. The stuff here is what I showed them that year. :) Going through this made me realize how much more I needed to know in order to be effective, how much more experience I needed to have. Now currently acting on these needs. :D

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter

