SY 2012-2013 2nd Semester Lesson 2: Shape, Texture – Animal Drawing

Slides: 2012-2013 G9 L2: Shape, Texture – Animal Drawing

Xavier School  |  Grade 9  |  by Josiah Gosingtian

G9 L2 featured image

This is a two-part activity where I made my students look for, then draw with the shapes they see in projected animal photographs, after which I made them practice different tone-and-texture-making techniques with pencils.

As you go through my slides for this semester, you might notice that I keep reiterating the movement from simple to complex, that art is done in steps.  This two-session affair showed me that most of my current students are unwilling to draw more than once per session (gasp!), with most of them becoming bored and inattentive knowing that they were going to draw animals “again”.  I might have chosen something that was simply uninteresting for kids these days; I’ll have to adjust accordingly.

About trickh

I taught art to freshmen and sophomores for one semester each. The stuff here is what I showed them that year. :) Going through this made me realize how much more I needed to know in order to be effective, how much more experience I needed to have. Now currently acting on these needs. :D

Leave a comment

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.