SY 2012-2013 1st Semester Lesson 12: Movement 1.5 – Narrative Structure / Exquisite Corpse Writing Activity

Slides: 2012-2013 G10 L12: Movement 1.5 – Narrative Structure / Exquisite Corpse Writing Activity

Xavier School  |  Grade 10  |  by Josiah Gosingtian

M12 featured image

It was always hard for me to get started with drawing.  Blank sheets feel intimidating.  I felt like my marks on these pristine white surfaces would defile them, especially when I’d make a mistake.  Over the years, I’ve tried different ways to kickstart my mind for drawing ideas, and I thought it would be great if I could share them with my students.  I’ve shared one here before (Lesson 3).

The next lesson will be about comics and layouting.  It’s the third and last part of the lesson on movement, and requires my students to use what I’ve taught them before, such as Unity (Lesson 4).  Now, I thought that if I have so much trouble coming up with drawing topics, how much harder would it be to draw a series of images, all tied together by a narrative thread?  I started thinking about my experiences back in college with my writing org, UP Quill.  We played writing games when we felt like it; one of them was Exquisite Corpse…

(I initially wanted to teach my students how to play Renga but it might take too long — I have around 38 students per class.)

EDIT:  I’ve had a few classes do this activity already, and it’s been quite an eye opener.  I really do have to keep the context in mind, such as the fact that this is an exclusive boys school, and they’re in Grade 10.  Just from that, I should’ve warned them to “keep it classy”…  You may have noticed that I have a post here that’s password locked.  I’ll open it up when all of the classes are done with the activity.  It’s definitely interesting, though, some are, um, NSFW.
I’m glad that it worked, though.  I’ve rolled out Lesson 13 already; it seems like my students are enjoying reading each other’s work, and having fun drawing them, too.  Bump my fist!  Do it!

About trickh

I taught art to freshmen and sophomores for one semester each. The stuff here is what I showed them that year. :) Going through this made me realize how much more I needed to know in order to be effective, how much more experience I needed to have. Now currently acting on these needs. :D

One response to “SY 2012-2013 1st Semester Lesson 12: Movement 1.5 – Narrative Structure / Exquisite Corpse Writing Activity

  1. Pingback: SY 2012-2013 Lesson 13: Movement 2 – Comics Layouting | VERTICAL FRAME

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter

