SY 2012-2013 1st Semester Lesson 5: Color Theory

Slides: 2012-2013 G10 L5: Color Theory

Xavier School  |  Grade 10  |  by Josiah Gosingtian

M5 Carnival

While I was growing up, I was often told that I should never use too many colors, for a number of reasons that bubble down to the same thing: it’s “ugly”.  After everything I’ve learned, I’ve realized that there’s no such thing as too many colors, only well-managed and mismanaged colors.  If you’re going to use create your own color scheme, consider the methods here but don’t stop there.  In the next lesson, I will be discussing tints, tones, and shades, among other things.

One of the sample artworks in my slides is “Carnival City”, which really wasn’t called that back when I was working with my friends under Avid Liongoren, on a Rivermaya video (Sunday Driving).  The piece didn’t even look the way it did now; during a search for my own sample work that “proved” my lessons, I found the original form of the background I digitally colored.

I’m not sure what I was thinking when I put that thing on the lower left corner of the first picture, but I find it interesting now.

Anyway, I put them together and fixed it up below:

About trickh

I taught art to freshmen and sophomores for one semester each. The stuff here is what I showed them that year. :) Going through this made me realize how much more I needed to know in order to be effective, how much more experience I needed to have. Now currently acting on these needs. :D

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter

  • RT @mindymol: KAPE ─ 2 weeks ago
  • An office where the restroom soap is soapier, the higher the floor. Also lets ya predict the presence of tissue paper in restrooms. ─ 1 month ago
  • It's a joyous occasion, seeing people improve. I don't need to be part of it. I feel good just seeing it happen. ─ 1 month ago
  • Looking into materials used for appliance wiring in the 40's. SO MANY KINDS to filter! A great #reference though: inspectapedia.com/electric/Old_E…1 month ago
  • It's raining, and I'm in my car, parked by a sidewalk. Just wanna stay, the car could shrink into a ball with me in it, one with the machine ─ 1 month ago
